Traditional to e-books in 60 Seconds

I’m admitting this now because my conversion to e-books was so complete, so effortless, so transforming that I’m ashamed it took me so long.  Yes, I was a traditionalist.  I wanted that physical book in my hands.  I wanted to feel the weight of it, hold each leaf between my thumb and forefinger to turn each page, gaze at the cover and then decorate my bookshelves with the treasure when I had finished reading.

Though I saw all the road signs along the way about the e-book revolution, I had been a teacher of English lit-era-ture!  Someone in good standing with Thoreau, Hemmingway and Orwell had to stem the tide.  What would those poor ‘ol dead white men think if we just allowed their medium to become extinct?

However, I relented and bought a Kindle Fire.  Why the Fire, you ask?  Well, if I ended up not reading e-books on the cute little thing, at least I could use the Internet and surf, check email and watch Netflix movies on it.  But shortly after I purchased the 5×9 heretic, I downloaded a couple of novels.  The first was Dorothy McFall’s A Wizard for Christmas.  I was addicted before I got to the middle of the first chapter. 

The lighting allowed me to read in bed at night with no lamp (not that I have to worry about keeping anyone awake at night these days, but there was a time…); I had the ability to take notes and even to use an interactive dictionary that pops up when you touch a word!  Did I tell you I was addicted at this point?  Oh, yeah.  Anyway, I loved the way I could brush the screen ever so lightly with any finger of my choosing, and there it was–the very next page was revealed to me.  Oh, and I almost forgot about the most amazingly cool feature–the automatic bookmark thingy.  Every time I leave my Fire, it remembers where I had last left the novel.  How cool is that?  No more thumbing through page after page to figure out where I had been when my bookmarks fell out or when I forgot to place one in the novel.

In fact, that bookmarking thing reminds me of my most favorite feature–the automatic off when I stop turning the pages.  When I slip into sleep and my Fire falls silently from my fingers onto the mattress, there is no fanfare of marking the page, placing the novel on the nightstand and turning out the lights.  There is only silence and sweet dreams.

Did I tell you I was addicted?

.

About Vicki Wilkerson Author

I am a homegrown, Southern author. My newest release in the Summerbrook Series, SWAMPS AND SOIREES, is now available in paperback and digital on Amazon and in select shops. SWEET TEA AND TIME and BIKERS AND PEARLS (The Summerbrook Novels) are also available on Amazon and in numerous outlets. Look for FIREFLIES AND LIES in the same series coming in December 2017!
This entry was posted in Read it!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Traditional to e-books in 60 Seconds

  1. susan meier says:

    I was reluctant too. Then I bought a Kindle for my mom, who wanted to have tons of books at her fingertips. As I figured out how to use it so I could teach her, I became amazed…then jealous!

    So for my b-day last year my husband bought me one. It is my constant companion. I have hundreds of books downloaded already. I’ve never read more…because it’s so convenient.

    And…I can make the font any size I want!

    Sitting under a dryer at the hairdresser, I had the font on huge. My niece came in and tapped on the dryer hood. “Hey, Aunt Susan, you might want to shrink that a bit. I could read it from the street!”

    susan meier

  2. Great post, Vicki! I can’t tell you how much I enjoy my ebook reader. The books are always there for me. If I’m in the mood for a short story or a different genre, but wait, I’m at the doctor’s office? No problem. I have my entire bookshelf in my purse.

    I gave Jim the Kindle Fire for Christmas. He wasn’t sure whether he’d want it at first. It took him about as long as it took you to decide he loves it!

    And there’s so many great ebooks available out there, including a super fun story called Biker Sunday. Who wrote that one again? 🙂

    Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

